Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Elizabeth Barrett married Robert Browning on September 2, 1846 and died in his arms on June 29th, 1861

 

 

The Last Romantic

Give me Barrett and Browning, Shelley,
Burns and the Lord
Byron, the words of muses, long before
Wastelands were heard,
crying fro recognition,
crying for a day called their own;
just give me Blake’s, Tyger with eyes blazing,
in fearful symmetry, and give me
Keats, before I have fears that I may cease be
no more, and pass into nothingness

No joy can I find, in naked howling minds
destroyed by madness; children screaming in the
stairway, let me leave this world, frozen to
melt another day, not this day;
this day, I shall Meet in aspect and her eyes;
Thus mellowed to the tender light, and sip wine
with the Lord by candlelight

In serene drunkenness these words
will be my days, my nights, at will –
Escape me? Never –lost I would be
without my Beloved! While I am I,
and Elizabeth you are you
Redefined past principles form on
My letters! All dead paper, mute and white!
Is that you Elizabeth?

It will come death, my calendar
marked by fate, And, friends,
dear friends, -when it shall be
That this low breath is gone from me
,
My last plea, and will is only before
that last door locked, that my
left hand shall bear a volume of Browning;
my right Barrett’s Sonnets
crossing my heart

bkmackenzie

