Tags

, , , , ,

 
artdecowhitedress               1
  
The postscript –
you penciled
at the end of your note
 
 Made me realize
I am but-  an  afterthought
 
                 2
 
Your charm bracelet is heavy
with broken hearts
 
Do you collect them
for show and tell?
 
                3
 
The circumstances of a
prior commitment
Do not give me license
on your dinner offer
 
Though-
 I am tempted
to try your laughter
with my morning coffee
 
                4
 
I write myself notes
So I can get through this life
 
                Don’t forget to
                                Pickup dry-cleaning
                                1 qt of milk
                                a dozen eggs
 
I did not have you on my list
But, I’ve decided to pencil you in
 
                5
 
 
Promiscuous – you say I am
tasting of different vintages
For you, label may carry prestige
but, I ask my palette to be
the judge
 
 
                6
 
Your morals–
are not well coordinated
with the hat you wear to bed
 
I can overlook them for my
own pleasure –
Others may not be so
forgiving
 
 
bkmackenzie
copyrighted 2009
