Tags

, , , , , , , ,

 listening-heart

 

“The first duty of love is to listen.” – Paul Tillich

A duty of Love – yes, there are duties in loving  as Tillich points out with listening being the greatest.   Taking the time to actually be silent and hear not only the words but the body language of another human or animal for that matter is not easy in a self centerd world.   All to often we want to jump in and add a line on what we know, what we think, what we are doing and the other person talking gets lost in the noise of our voice and never gets to say what they wanted to convey.  

I am finding myself doing this all too many times, throwing out answers and words on what I read, what I am doing, what I think is important.     Changing is work but that is part of  this journey called life; to listen to others is a major aspect of learning about others and about ourselves.

So today I pray to that I learn to take time to listen to the hearts and minds of  all those around me that I may understand and grow in loving others.   

 signed ………………………..       bkm

